eNCA journalists win top awards

The national 2015 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards were held on Friday, 27 November 2015 and two of eNCA’s journalists walked away with nods for their outstanding journalistic efforts.

eNCA’s Philip Owira was named the TV News category winner for his exceptional piece ‘Rhodes Has Fallen’. Phillip recently received a Chevening Scholarship to study at the University of London.

The highly-contested Editor’s Choice award was awarded to eNCA reporter Yusuf Omar. This award is given to a young reporter who has the potential to become a great journalist. As the award recipient, Omar will be heading to the United Kingdom in August 2016 for The Summer Convergence Course, hosted by the Thomson Foundation, and spend one week working with a British media organisation.

The Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards are judged by some of the country’s esteemed veteran journalists and exist to celebrate regional and national outstanding journalism in South Africa. This year’s judging panel included Mary Papayya, Elna Rossouw, Collin Nxumalo, Arthur Goldstuck, Albe Grobbelaar, Ryland Fisher, Megan Rusi and Patricia McCracken.